Congressional Nursing Caucus

The nursing profession is at a critical crossroads.  A call for an increased emphasis of nurses’ roles, responsibilities and education is necessary in order to meet the increased demand for health care going forward.  For the first time in our profession, the Institute of Medicine, an impartial group with impeccable scientific and public policy credentials has put out a call to action and its being taken seriously.

In order to have a platform on Capitol Hill to address such challenges from a legislative perspective Representatives Lois Capps (D-CA) and David Joyce (R-OH) have established a bi-partisan Congressional Nursing Caucus, while Senators Jeff Merkley (D-OR), Mike Johanns (R-NE), Barbara Mikulski (D-MD) and former Senator Olympia Snowe (R-ME) established the Senate Nursing Caucus. The Nursing Caucus allows Members of Congress an open forum to address a range of issues affecting the nursing community.

Review the list of current Caucus Members and if your Representative or Senators are not listed, urge them to join by taking action and sending them a letter!

Weston, Joyce, Capps
ANA CEO Marla Weston with Co-Chairs Congressman David Joyce (R-OH) and Lois Capps (D-CA). Photo Courtesy of David Bohrer

Members of the 113th Congressional Nursing Caucus: 

*Indicates Co-Chairs

House of Representatives:


Tim Griffin (AR-02)

Raul Grijalva (AZ-03)

Mike Thompson (CA-05)

Doris Matsui (CA-06)

Barbara Lee (CA-13)

Anna Eshoo (CA-18)

Zoe Lofgren (CA-19)

Lois Capps (CA-24)*

Howard McKeon (CA-25)

Julia Brownley (CA-26)

Grace Napolitano (CA-32)

Henry Waxman (CA-33)

Xavier Becerra (CA-34)

Loretta Sanchez (CA-38)

Mark Takano (CA-41)

Darrell Issa (CA-49)

Susan Davis (CA-53)

Mike Coffman (CO-06)

Joe Courtney (CT-02)

Rosa DeLauro (CT-03)

Jim Himes (CT-04)

Eleanor Holmes Norton (DC)

Henry Johnson (GA-04)

John Lewis (GA-05)

Bruce Braley (IA-01)

Dave Loebsack (IA-02)

Tom Latham (IA-03)

Dan Lipinski (IL-03)

Danny Davis (IL-07)

Jan Schakowsky (IL-09)

Bill Enyart (IL-12)

Aaron Schock (IL-18)

Andre Carson (IN-07)

Todd Young (IN-09)

Lynn Jenkins (KS-02)

Ed Whitfield (KY-01)

Brett Guthrie (KY-02)

John Yarmuth (KY-03)

Ben Chandler (KY-06)

Bill Cassidy (LA-06)

Rodney Alexander (LA-05)

Richard Neal (MA-01)

Michael Capuano (MA-07)

Stephen Lynch (MA-08)

Elijah Cummings (MD-07)

Chris Van Hollen (MD-08)

Michael Michaud (ME-02)

Dale Kidlee (MI-05)

Candice Miller (MI-10)

Tim Walz (MN-01)

Blaine Luetkemeyer (MO-03)

Emanuel Cleaver (MO-05)

Gregorio Sablan (MP)

Alan Nunnelee (MS-01)

Renee Ellmers (NC-02)

David Price (NC-04)

Howard Coble (NC-06)

Mike McIntyre (NC-07)

Lee Terry (NE-02)

Carol Shea-Porter (NH-01)

Frank LoBiondo (NJ-02)

Chris Smith (NJ-04)

Frank Pallone (NJ-06)

Leonard Lance (NJ-07)

Bill Pascrell (NJ-08)

Rush Holt (NJ-12)

Steve Israel (NY-03)

Carolyn McCarthy (NY-04)

Carolyn Maloney (NY-12)

Charles Rangel (NY-13)

Eliot Engel (NY-16)

Nita Lowey (NY-17)

Richard Hanna (NY-22)

Pat Tiberi (OH-12)

Tim Ryan (OH-13)

David Joyce (OH-14)*

Suzanne Bonamici (OR-01)

Earl Blumenauer (OR-03)

Peter DeFazio (OR-04)

Bill Shuster (PA-09)

Lou Barletta (PA-11)

Allyson Schwartz (PA-13)

Michael Doyle (PA-14)

Matt Cartwright (PA-17)

Pedro Pierluisi (PR)

David Cicilline (RI-01)

Jim Langevin (RI-02)

Jim Cooper (TN-05)

Diane Black (TN-06)

Steve Cohen (TN-09)

Mike Conaway (TX-11)

Gene Green (TX-29)

Eddie Bernice Johnson (TX-30)

Pete Sessions (TX-32)

Lloyd Doggett (TX-35)

Jim Matheson (UT-04)

Randy Forbes (VA-04)

Bob Goodlatte (VA-06)

Jim Moran (VA-08)

Donna Christensen (VI)

Peter Welch (VT)

Cathy McMorris Rodgers (WA-05)

Jim McDermott (WA-07)

Adam Smith (WA-09)

Reid Ribble (WI-08)

Marc Pocan (WI-02)

David McKinley (WV-01)

Shelley Moore Capito (WV-02)

Nick Rahall (WV-03)

Cynthia Lummis (WY)

Don't see your Representative Above?


Susan Collins (R-ME)

Al Franken (D-MN)

Tom Harkin (D-IA)

Mike Johanns (R-NE)*

Jeff Merkley (D-OR)*

Barbara Mikulski (D-MD)*

Bernard Sanders (I-VT)

Debbie Stabenow (D-MI)

Don't see your Senator Above?