Election 2016

When Nurses Talk Washington Listens

ANA's 2016 Presidential & Congressional Endorsements

The American Nurses Association (ANA) is proud to announce its endorsements for candidates for Congress and for the White House in the 2016 election.

These candidates span different states, backgrounds, and political parties while sharing a steadfast commitment to serve the nursing community and uphold ANA's principles. They will be our champions in Washington, and will support legislation that supports both patients and providers.

The American Nurses Association Political Action Committee (ANA-PAC) was established to promote the improvement of the healthcare system in the United States by raising funds from ANA members and contributing to worthy candidates on both sides of the aisle. We encourage ANA members and supporters to learn more about these candidates and about ANA-PAC.

ANA Endorses Hillary Clinton for President

In March of 2016, after an unprecedented amount of votes cast by ANA members, and the consideration of ANA-PAC Board and its Presidential Endorsement Task Force members, ANA announced Hillary Clinton received the organization's endorsement for president.

"I am honored to have earned the endorsement of the American Nurses Association, which represents the interests of America's 3.6 million registered nurses," Secretary Clinton said on the announcement.

"Across the country, nurses provide vital medical care to countless Americans every year. They care for our families and friends, they comfort us in times of uncertainty and grief, and they maintain continuously high standards of medical practice. You won't find a harder-working, more dedicated, and more trusted group of professionals anywhere."

ANA has endorsed a candidate in each presidential election since 1984. You can learn about the endorsement process, and read frequently asked questions here.

By Seat

Or By State

Paid for by the American Nurses Association Political Action Committee (ANA-PAC), Not authorized by any candidate or candidate’s committee.